COIN Investigators & Staff - Seattle-Denver Center of Innovation (COIN)
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Seattle-Denver Center of Innovation (COIN)

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

COIN Investigators & Staff

 

20 October 2021

Leadership | Administration | Investigators | Research Team | Fellows

Leadership

 

Directors

 

David Au, MD, MS
Title: Director, HSR&D COIN
ProfessorDivision of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: David.Au@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Cari R. Levy, MD, PhD
Title: Director, HSR&D COIN
Professor, Medicine-Health Care Policy Research, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Cari.Levy@va.gov
Location: Denver

Associate Directors

 

Karen Albright, PhD
Title: Associate Director, HSR&D COIN
Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Karen.Albrght2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Steven B. Zeliadt, PhD, MPH
Title: Associate Director, HSR&D COIN
Research Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Stephen.Zeliadt@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Fellowship Directors

 

Catherine T. Battaglia, PhD, MSHA, RN
Title: PhD Fellowship Co-Director, Denver
Clinical Teaching Associate Professor, Department of Health Systems, Management & Policy, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Catherine.Battaglia@va.gov
Location: Denver

Charles C. Engel, MD, MPH
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Investigator, VA HSR&D Center of Innovation for Veteran-Centered and Value-Driven Care
Contact: Charles.Engel@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Laura C. Feemster, MD, MS
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Associate Professor, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Laura.Feemster@va.gov
Location: Seattle

John C. Fortney, PhD
Title:PhD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Research Career Scientist, Seattle Director, Division of Population Health
Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: John.Fortney@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Christine Jones, MD, MS
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Denver
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Christine.Jones17@va.gov
Location: Denver

Emily C. Williams, PhD, MPH
Title: PhD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Emily.Williams3@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Core Directors

 

George Sayre, PsyD
Title: Director - Seattle, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Clinical Assistant Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: George.Sayre@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Roman A. Ayele, PhD, MPH
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Assistant professor adjunct at Colorado School of Public Health
Contact: Roman.Ayele@va.gov
Location: Denver

Leah M. Haverhals, PhD, MA
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Contact: Leah.Haverhals@va.gov
Location: Denver

Chelsea Leonard, PhD
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Anthropologist and Qualitative Methodologist
Contact: Chelsea.Leonard@va.gov
Location: Denver

Piper Williams MS
Title: Director, Denver Quantitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Associate Investigator, Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center
Contact: Piper.Williams@va.gov
Location: Denver

Administration

 

Jackie Szarka, MA, PhD
Title: Operations Officer – Seattle HSR&D COIN
Contact: Jackie.Szarka@VA.gov
Location: Seattle

Erica Tartaglione, BS
Title: Seattle COIN Special Initiatives Manager
Seattle COIN DEI Co-Chair, Seattle COIN Veteran Engagement Group Steering Committee Co-Manager, VA Puget Sound Project Coordinator Group Co-Manager
Contact: erica.tartaglione@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Erica Valdez
Title: Denver COIN Office Manager
Contact: erica.valdez@va.gov
Location: Denver

Investigators

 

David B. Bekelman, MD, PhD
Title: Professor of Medicine and Nursing, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
Contact: David.Bekelman@va.gov
Location: Denver

Lauren A. Beste, MD, MSc, FACP
Title: Associate Professor Medicine, University of Washington
Director, VA National Liver Disease Database
Contact: Lauren.Beste@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Evan Carey, PhD
Title: COIN investigator and lead quantitative efforts for VACE
Contact: Evan.Carey@va.gov
Location: Denver

Lisa S. Callegari, MD, MPH
Title: Associate Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology, University of Washington
Co-Chairs, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
Contact: Lisa.Callegari@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Sarah B Campbell, PhD
Title: Acting Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Sarah.Campbell6@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Liron Caplan, MD, PhD
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine-Rheumatology, University of Colorado
Contact: Liron.Caplan@va.gov
Location: Denver

Jessica A Chen, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Jessica.Chen663@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kristina A Crothers, MD
Title: Professor, Medicine and Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Kristina.Crothers@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Jacob A. Doll, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine, University of Washington
Attending Physician, VA Puget Sound Health Care System
Contact: Jacob.Doll@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Lucas M. Donovan, MD, MS
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Washington
Investigator, VA HSR&D Center of Innovation for Veteran-Centered and Value-Driven Care
Contact: Lucas.Donovan@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Vincent S. Fan, MD, MPHDr
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine - Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Contact: Vincent.Fan@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kelsey Flint, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Kelsey.Flint@va.gov
Location: Denver

Joseph W. Frank, MD, MPH
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine-Internal Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Joseph.Frank2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Heather Gilmartin, PhD, NP
Title: Research Nurse Scientist of VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System
Contact: Heather.Gilmartin@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kristen E. Gray, PD, MS, BS
Title: Research Assistant Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Kristen.Gray2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Matthew F. Griffith, MD, MPH
Title: Staff Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Physician, Assistant Director of Medical/Surgical ICU at Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC, and Co-Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion for the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Division
Contact: Matthew.Griffith@va.gov
Location: Denver

Eric J. Hawkins, PhD
Title: Associate Director of the Seattle Center of Excellence in Substance Addiction Treatment and Education (CESATE)
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Eric.Hawkins@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Paul L. Hebert, PhD
Title: VA Health Services Research and Development
Research Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Paul.Hebert2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Christian D. Helfrich, PhD, MPH
Title: Research Assistant Professor, Department of Health Services at the University of Washington School of Public Health
Contact: Christian.Helfrich@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kamal Henderson, MD
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Kamal.Henderson@va.gov
Location: Denver

Paul Hess, MD
Title: Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Paul.Hess@va.gov
Location: Denver

P. Michael Ho, MD, PhD
Title: Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Michael.Ho@va.gov
Location: Denver

Katherine D. Hoerster, PhD, MPH
Title: Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Katherine.Hoerster@va.gov
Location: Seattle

George N. Ioannou, MD, MS
Title: Professor, Gastroenterology, University of Washington
Director, VA Puget Sound Health Care System Hepatology
Contact: George.Ioannou@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Jodie G. Katon, PhD, MS
Title: Research Assistant Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Jodie.Katon@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Vinay Kini, MD, MSHP
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Location: Denver

Keren Lehavot, PhD
Title: Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Adjunct Associate Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Keren.Lehavot@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Alyson J. Littman, PhD, MPH
Title: Research Professor, Epidemiology, University of Washington
Contact: Alyson.Littman@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Charles C. Maynard, PhD, MSW
Title: Research Professor Emeritus, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Charles.Maynard@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Michaela McCarthy, PhD
Title: Health Services Research & Development
Contact: Michaela.McCarthy@va.gov
Location: Denver

Karin M. Nelson, MD, MSHS
Title: Professor of Medicine, Adjunct Professor of Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Karin.Nelson@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Ann M. O’Hare, MD
Title: Professor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Ann.OHare@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Sridharan Raghavan, MD, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor, Clinical Investigator; Division of Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Sridharan.Raghavan@va.gov
Location: Denver

Ashok Reddy, MD, MS, BS
Title: Veterans Health Administration (VHA) Patient-Aligned Care Teams (PACT)
Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Ashok.Reddy@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Lynn F. Reinke, PhD, ARNP
Title: Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Biobehavioral Nursing & Health Systems, University of Washington
Contact: Lynn.Reinke1@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Amneet Sandhu, MD
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Amneet.Sandhu2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Comilla Sasson, MD, MHS
Title: Associate Clinical Professor, Emergency Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Comilla.Sasson@va.gov
Location: Denver

David Saxon, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine-Endocrinology/Metabolism/Diabetes, University of Colorado
Contact: David.Saxon@va.gov
Location: Denver

Laura Scherer, PhD
Title: Assistant Research Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Laura.Scherer@va.gov
Location: Denver

Joseph A Simonetti, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Clinical Investigator, Program for Injury Prevention, Education & Research; Division of Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Joseph.Simonetti@va.gov
Location: Denver

Stephen Waldo, MD
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Stephen.Waldo@va.gov
Location: Denver

Edwin S. Wong, PhD, MA
Title: Research Associate Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Core Investigator, Veterans Administration Puget Sound Health Care System
Contact: Edwin.Wong@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Susan P.Y. Wong, MD, MS
Title: Assistant Professor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Susan.Wong2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Bessie Young, MD, MPH
Title: Professor, Medicine - Nephrology, Adjunct Professor, Epidemiology, Adjunct Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Core Investigator, Seattle Epidemiologic Research and Information Center (ERIC)
Contact: youngb@uw.edu
Location: Seattle

Research Team Members

 

Brigid Connelly, BA
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Brigid.Connelly@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kelty Fehling, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Kelty.Fehling@va.gov
Location: Denver

Jess Indresano, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: jessica.indresano@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Rachel Johnson, PhD, LCSW
Title: Clinical Core Lead, Denver-Seattle COIN
Assistant Professor, College of Nursing, University of Colorado
Contact: Rachel.Johnson13@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kate Magid, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: kate.magid@va.gov
Location: Denver

Adnan Syed, BS
Title: Professional Research Assistant, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Adnan.Syed3@va.gov
Location: Denver

Post-Doctoral Fellows

 

Catherine "Kate" Butler, MD, MA
Title: Acting Instructor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Catherine.Butler2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Sonali Mishra, PhD
Title: Fellow
Contact: Sonali.Mishra@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Mayuree Rao, MD
Title: Fellow, General Internal Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Mayuree.Rao@va.gov
Location: Seattle

‪David E. Reed, II, PhD
Title: Associate Health Fellow
Contact: David.Reed7@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Krista Scorsone, PhD, RN, PMHNP-BC
Title: Advanced Health Services Research and Development Fellowship
Contact: Krista.Scorsone@va.gov
Location: Denver

Tessa Steel, MD, MPH
Title: Acting Instructor/Senior Fellow, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, & Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Tessa.Steel@va.gov
Location: Seattle

The diverse clinical and methodological expertise makes our COIN unique to the VA HSR&D program and invaluable to VA care delivery.

We explicitly recruit medical specialists to our respective Centers and have a large group of medical specialists trained in health services research and board certified in cardiology, geriatrics, palliative care, internal medicine, pulmonary, nephrology, gastroenterology, rheumatology, and psychiatry. These researchers provide insight into specialty care that complements the expertise of our primary care, nursing, and PhD investigators.