Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Seattle-Denver Center of Innovation (COIN)

Menu
Menu
Quick Links
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

COIN Investigators & Staff


Leadership | Administration | Core Investigators | Affiliate Investigators | Research Team | Fellows

Leadership

 

Directors

 

Christine Jones, MD, MS
Title: Co-Director, HSR&D COIN
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Christine.Jones17@va.gov
Location: Denver

Steven B. Zeliadt, PhD, MPH
Title: Co-Director, HSR&D COIN
Research Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Steven.Zeliadt@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Associate Directors

 

Laura C. Feemster, MD, MS
Title: Acting Associate Director, HSR&D COIN
Associate Professor, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Laura.Feemster@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Joseph W. Frank, MD, MPH
Title: Acting Associate Director, HSR&D COIN
Associate Professor, Medicine-Internal Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Joseph.Frank2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Fellowship Directors

 

Catherine T. Battaglia, PhD, MSHA, RN
Title: PhD Fellowship Co-Director, Denver
Clinical Teaching Associate Professor, Department of Health Systems, Management & Policy, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Catherine.Battaglia@va.gov
Location: Denver

Jacob A. Doll, MD
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Assistant Professor, Medicine, University of Washington
Attending Physician, VA Puget Sound Health Care System
Contact: Jacob.Doll@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Charles C. Engel, MD, MPH
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Charles.Engel@va.gov
Location: Seattle

John C. Fortney, PhD
Title:PhD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Research Career Scientist, Seattle Director, Division of Population Health
Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: John.Fortney@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Sridharan Raghavan, MD, PhD
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Denver
Assistant Professor, Clinical Investigator; Division of Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Sridharan.Raghavan@va.gov
Location: Denver

Core Directors

 

Roman A. Ayele, PhD, MPH
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Assistant professor adjunct at Colorado School of Public Health
Contact: Roman.Ayele@va.gov
Location: Denver

Scott Coggeshall, PhD
Title: Director - Seattle, Quantitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Biostatistician
Contact: Scott.Coggeshall@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kismet (Anna) Cordova, MPH
Title: Director - Denver, Quantitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Contact: anna.cordova@va.gov
Location: Denver

Leah M. Haverhals, PhD, MA
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Contact: Leah.Haverhals@va.gov
Location: Denver

Rachel Johnson, PhD, LCSW
Title: Clinical Core Lead - Denver, Denver-Seattle COIN
Assistant Professor, College of Nursing, University of Colorado
Contact: Rachel.Johnson13@va.gov
Location: Denver

Chelsea Leonard, PhD
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Anthropologist and Qualitative Methodologist
Contact: Chelsea.Leonard@va.gov
Location: Denver

Lauren McKown, PhD
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation;
Health Research Scientist
Contact: Lauren.McKown@va.gov
Location: Denver

George Sayre, PsyD
Title: Director - Seattle, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Clinical Assistant Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: George.Sayre@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Administration

 

John C. Clark
Title: Operations Officer – Denver HSR&D COIN
Contact: John.Clark8@VA.gov
Location: Denver

Emily Locke
Title: Operations Officer – Seattle HSR&D COIN
Contact: Emily.Locke@VA.gov
Location: Seattle

Erica Tartaglione, BS
Title: Seattle COIN Special Initiatives Manager
Seattle HSR&D Fellowship Coordinator
Seattle COIN DEI Co-Chair
VA Puget Sound Project Coordinator Group Co-Manager
Contact: erica.tartaglione@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Erica Valdez
Title: Denver COIN Office Manager
Contact: erica.valdez@va.gov
Location: Denver

Core Investigators

 

David Au, MD, MS
Title: Professor, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: David.Au@va.gov
Location: Seattle

David B. Bekelman, MD, PhD
Title: Professor of Medicine and Nursing, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
Contact: David.Bekelman@va.gov
Location: Denver

Catherine Butler, MD, MA
Title: Assistant Professor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Catherine.Butler2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Lisa S. Callegari, MD, MPH
Title: Associate Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology, University of Washington
Co-Chairs, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
Contact: Lisa.Callegari@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Liron Caplan, MD, PhD
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine-Rheumatology, University of Colorado
Contact: Liron.Caplan@va.gov
Location: Denver

Jessica A Chen, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Jessica.Chen663@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kristina A Crothers, MD
Title: Professor, Medicine and Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Kristina.Crothers@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Lucas M. Donovan, MD, MS
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Washington
Investigator, VA HSR&D Center of Innovation for Veteran-Centered and Value-Driven Care
Contact: Lucas.Donovan@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Vincent S. Fan, MD, MPHDr
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine - Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Contact: Vincent.Fan@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Margaret A. Fitzpatrick, MD, MS
Title: Infectious Diseases Physician
Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, University of Colorado
Contact: margaret.fitzpatrick@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kelsey Flint, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Kelsey.Flint@va.gov
Location: Denver

Heather Gilmartin, PhD, NP
Title: Research Nurse Scientist of VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System
Contact: Heather.Gilmartin@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kristen E. Gray, PD, MS, BS
Title: Research Assistant Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Kristen.Gray2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Matthew F. Griffith, MD, MPH
Title: Staff Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Physician,
Assistant Director of Medical/Surgical ICU at Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC,
Co-Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion for the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Division
Contact: Matthew.Griffith@va.gov
Location: Denver

Eric J. Hawkins, PhD
Title: Associate Director of the Seattle Center of Excellence in Substance Addiction Treatment and Education (CESATE)
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Eric.Hawkins@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Paul L. Hebert, PhD
Title: VA Health Services Research and Development
Research Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Paul.Hebert2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Christian D. Helfrich, PhD, MPH
Title: Research Assistant Professor, Department of Health Services at the University of Washington School of Public Health
Contact: Christian.Helfrich@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kamal Henderson, MD
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Kamal.Henderson@va.gov
Location: Denver

Paul Hess, MD
Title: Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Paul.Hess@va.gov
Location: Denver

P. Michael Ho, MD, PhD
Title: Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Michael.Ho@va.gov
Location: Denver

Katherine D. Hoerster, PhD, MPH
Title: Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Katherine.Hoerster@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Cari R. Levy, MD, PhD
Title: Investigator, HSR&D COIN
Professor, Medicine-Health Care Policy Research, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Cari.Levy@va.gov
Location: Denver

Alyson J. Littman, PhD, MPH
Title: Research Professor, Epidemiology, University of Washington
Contact: Alyson.Littman@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Karin M. Nelson, MD, MSHS
Title: Professor of Medicine, Adjunct Professor of Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Karin.Nelson@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Ann M. O’Hare, MD
Title: Professor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Ann.OHare@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Ashok Reddy, MD, MS, BS
Title: Veterans Health Administration (VHA) Patient-Aligned Care Teams (PACT)
Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Ashok.Reddy@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Amneet Sandhu, MD
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Amneet.Sandhu2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Linnaea Schuttner, MD, MS
Title: Investigator Seattle-Denver COIN
Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: linnaea.schuttner@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Joseph A Simonetti, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Clinical Investigator, Program for Injury Prevention, Education & Research; Division of Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Joseph.Simonetti@va.gov
Location: Denver

Emily C. Williams, PhD, MPH
Title: Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Emily.Williams3@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Edwin S. Wong, PhD, MA
Title: Research Associate Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Core Investigator, Veterans Administration Puget Sound Health Care System
Contact: Edwin.Wong@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Susan P.Y. Wong, MD, MS
Title: Assistant Professor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Susan.Wong2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Affiliate Investigators

 

Evan Carey, PhD
Title: COIN investigator and lead quantitative efforts for VACE
Contact: Evan.Carey@va.gov
Location: Denver

Jason A. Dominitz, MD, MHS
Title:Seattle-Denver COIN Affiliate
Executive Director for Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Department of Veterans Affairs
Professor, Division of Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: jason.dominitz@va.gov
Location: Seattle

George N. Ioannou, MD, MS
Title: Professor, Gastroenterology, University of Washington
Director, VA Puget Sound Health Care System Hepatology
Contact: George.Ioannou@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Teresa S. Jones, MD
Title: Associate Professor, Surgery-GI, Trauma, and Endocrine Surgery
Contact: teresa.jones@va.gov
Location: Denver

‪Mayuree Rao, MD
Title: Clinical Affiliate; Former Associate Health Fellow
Contact: Mayuree.Rao@va.gov
Location: Seattle

‪David E. Reed, II, PhD
Title: Clinical Affiliate; Former Associate Health Fellow
Contact: David.Reed7@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Comilla Sasson, MD, MHS
Title: Associate Clinical Professor, Emergency Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Comilla.Sasson@va.gov
Location: Denver

David Saxon, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine-Endocrinology/Metabolism/Diabetes, University of Colorado
Contact: David.Saxon@va.gov
Location: Denver

Laura Scherer, PhD
Title: Associate Research Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Laura.Scherer@va.gov
Location: Denver

Stephen Waldo, MD
Title: National Director, VA Clinical Assessment, Reporting and Tracking (CART) Program
Associate Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Stephen.Waldo@va.gov
Location: Denver

Research Team Members

 

Ellen Ahlness, PhD
Title: Qualitative Methodologist, Research Health Science Specialist
Contact: ellen.a.ahlnessabdulmuminov@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Brigid Connelly, BA
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Brigid.Connelly@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kelty Fehling, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Kelty.Fehling@va.gov
Location: Denver

Jess Indresano, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: jessica.indresano@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Lynette R. Kelley, FNP
Title: Research Nurse Practitioner/Clinical Analyst
Contact: lynette.kelley@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kate Magid, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: kate.magid@va.gov
Location: Denver

Michaela McCarthy, PhD
Title: Health Services Research & Development
Contact: Michaela.McCarthy@va.gov
Location: Denver

Demetria M. McNeal, PhD, MBA, CPTD
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: demetria.mcneal@cuanschutz.edu
Location: Denver

Ashley Mog, PhD, MSc
Title: Qualitative Methodologist
Contact: ashley.mog@va.gov
University of Washington page
Location: Seattle

Valentina Petrova, MA, MAIS
Title: Qualitative Team Lead
Contact: Valentina.Petrova@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Adnan Syed, BS
Title: Professional Research Assistant, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Adnan.Syed3@va.gov
Location: Denver

Post-Doctoral Fellows

 

Jake Cotton, MD
Title: MD Research Fellow
Contact: jake.cotton@va.gov
Location: Denver

Marguerite Daus, PhD, RN
Title: COIN Advanced Health Services Research Fellow
Contact: marguerite.daus@va.gov
Location: Denver

Madeline Frost, PhD, MPH
Title: PhD Fellow, VA Advanced Fellowship in Health Services Research and Development
Contact: madeline.frost@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Jeremy Bryce Graber, PT, DPT
Title: VA Advanced Research Fellow, Rehabilitation Scientist
Contact: jeremy.graber@va.gov
Location: Denver

Luis M. Perez, PhD, RD
Title: Allied Health Research Fellow
Contact: luis.perez2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Mattie Pontiff, DPT, PhD
Title: Allied Health Research Fellow
Contact: mattie.pontiff@va.gov
Location: Denver

Michelle Rauzi PT, DPT, PhD (c), ATC
Title: Health Services Research & Development Fellow
Contact: michelle.rauzi@cuanschutz.edu
Location: Denver

Jonathan Staloff, MD, MSc
Title: MD Fellow
Contact: Jonathan.Staloff@va.gov
Location: Seattle

The diverse substantive, methodological, and clinical expertise across our investigators and staff is invaluable to VA health care research and delivery.